My Country


This is my country, and I am proud

Said a man in a voice that was too loud.

And another said, that of course is true,

But sometimes I like to say this too:

 

My country is much larger still.

I’ll tell you why, if you will:

Canada is my country too,

And every country old and new:

 

Mexico and Bolivia

Ecuador and Colombia,

Panama and Peru,

Even all the oceans blue.

 

England, Europe, even Finland,

Scotland and even Ireland,

All of Europe, east and west.

North and south and all the rest.

 

North African lands like Algeria,

Tunisia and Syria,

Iran, Iraq, Libya,

All the lands of Arabia

 

African ones like Sudan,

I can go just on and on

Alphabetically all the way

From Angola to good old Zimbabwe.

 

Mine is Russia and Armenia

Nepal, Bhutan and India,

Afghanistan, Uzbekistan

Israel and Pakistan.

 

Two Koreas and Japan

Mainland China and Taiwan,

Australia and New Zealand

Even Iceland and Greenland.

 

My country is large, it even lies

Beyond land and water, over the skies.

Includes Mars, Venus and Saturn

No matter where in space you turn.

 

Sun and stars and the Milky Way

Far and near, whatever you say.

I claim all these as mine in verse,

‘Cause I was born in the Universe.

 

My  problem is: With all this might

I’ve no foe with whom to fight.

 

This World is My World

This World is Your World,

From the South and the North Pole

To the Universe as a Whole.

 

August 15, 2012

About Varadaraja V. Raman

Physicist, philosopher, explorer of ideas, bridge-builder, devotee of Modern Science and Enlightenment, respecter of whatever is good and noble in religious traditions as well as in secular humanism,versifier and humorist, public speaker, dreamer of inter-cultural,international,inter-religious peace.
This entry was posted in Rhymed Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

