Ecumenical Reflections


In striving to recognize the primacy of Fire and Light.
I feel kinship with my Zoroastrian sisters and brothers.
In striving to respect the Ten Commandments,
I feel kinship with my Jewish sisters and brothers.
In striving to be kind to neighbor and the needy,
I feel kinship with my Christian sisters and brothers.
In striving to be compassionate to creatures great and small,
I feel kinship with my Buddhist and Jaina sisters and brothers.
In striving to surrender myself completely to the Divine,
I feel kinship with my Muslim sisters and brothers.
In the recognition that religious wisdom flows from the Masters,
I feel kinship with my Sikh sisters and brothers.
In the recognition that serving fellow humans should be the goal of all religions,
I feel kinship with my Bahai sisters and brothers.
In my reverence for plants and trees, for lakes and mountains,
I feel kinship with my Native American sisters and brothers.
In my respect for those who see the world only as natural phenomena arising from physical laws,
I feel kinship with my religious naturalist sisters and brothers
In feeling that all these and more are all paths to the same Unfathomable Mystery,
I feel kinship with my Hindu sisters and brothers.
In my love and laughter, joy and pain,
I feel kinship with all my fellow humans.
In my need for nourishment and instinct to live on,
I feel kinship with all beings on the planet.
In my spiritual ecstasy with this wondrous world,
I feel kinship with the Cosmic Whole.

[Composed at the Cape of Good Hope, Africa, Dec 1999]

About Varadaraja V. Raman

Physicist, philosopher, explorer of ideas, bridge-builder, devotee of Modern Science and Enlightenment, respecter of whatever is good and noble in religious traditions as well as in secular humanism,versifier and humorist, public speaker, dreamer of inter-cultural,international,inter-religious peace.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

